Penn State Lacrosse fell to Duke 16-15 in the NCAA Semifinals on Saturday afternoon in Philadelphia, but did the Nittany Lions deserve to lose?
Despite being significant underdogs, Penn State found themselves tied 15-15 with Duke heading to overtime. Duke ‘scored’ first to win the game but despite clear video replay showing the Blue Devil attacker in the crease, instant replay was not allowed to overturn the call.
The NCAA Twitter account was forced to turn off replys on the tweet of the game winning goal and the video board and Lincoln Financial Field asked fans not to throw anything on the playing surface.
Essentially, despite videop replay clearly showing a crease violation, according to NCAA MLax rules, the play is not one that’s reviewable.
You have to wonder if that rule will change this off-season but either way, it’s a brutal loss for the Nittany Lions, bringing their season to a close.
Watch the video below and you make the call.
Should the Duke Blue Devils game winning goal have been disallowed?
THE REPLAYS. 👇— USA Lacrosse Magazine (@USALacrosseMag) May 27, 2023
Was Leadmon the crease? pic.twitter.com/UE8H2PCMf6